Recipes

Brussels Sprouts Recipe


I performed a recent experiment that I thought resulted in a nice result. Try it out and see if you agree. I came across a recipe that paired swordfish with Brussels sprouts, but I was only interested in the Brussels sprouts portion. My wife and I both like Brussels sprouts when we eat out, so I thought I would pair it with broiled salt mackerel and rice. I think the contrast in taste between these sprouts and the saltiness of the fish worked well. Go easy with the butter and honey if you’re watching calories.

Brussel Sprouts

Brussels Sprouts Recipe

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1/4 pound hardwood smoked bacon, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound baby Brussels sprouts, outer leaves removed, stem trimmed, halved lengthwise
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons honey (or sorghum syrup, molasses)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Lemon half, for seasoning

Equipment

  • Chef’s knife
  • Chopping board
  • Large, heavy pan

Method

  • Set the large, heavy pan over medium heat. Add bacon and brown.
  • Add 2 tablespoons oil to pan with bacon drippings. Turn up heat to medium-high and add Brussels sprouts. Arrange sprouts so cut slides face down. Cook, undisturbed, until blackened, about 5 minutes. Resist the temptation to shake the pan. Just watch carefully so sprouts don’t burn.
  • Add butter and honey to pan with sprouts. Stir until butter melts and sauce comes together and coats sprouts, about 1 minute. Take pan off heat. Season with salt, pepper and a squeeze of lemon.

Serve with broiled mackerel and steamed white rice.

Enjoy!

Adapted from: Swordfish With Brussels Sprouts, By Josh Habinger & Erik Anderson, The Wall Street Journal

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment